Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Hypnagogia LP - BNJMN (Delsin Records)

Title: Hypnagogia 
Artist: BNJMN
Label: Delsin
Cat Number: Techno
Genre: 131DSR

A1: Atoms Speak
A2: Swarm
A3: Glowed
B1: Titan Dome
B2: Hypnagogia Pt. 1
C1: Theta Wave
C2: Indub
C3: Moth Lines
D1; Hyonagogia Pt. 2
D2: Over White Peaks

I never knew of the existence of this word until introduced to it via the Dopplereffekt/Objekt split release of a few years ago; ‘Hypnagogia, also referred to as "hypnagogic hallucinations", is the experience of the transitional state from wakefulness to sleep:’ one of my many faults is maybe wanting track titles in electronica to actually have a relationship with the music, and not be random throwaway inscriptions. This isn’t the case here, or maybe I’m overthinking things. That BNJMN feels that this is his first “cohesive body of work” since ‘Black Square’ on Rush Hour back in 2011, however, is a sentiment I feel is worth taking seriously, true or not. Whatever the case, the album is a serious collection of mood setters, and hinges, for me at least on the two eponymous compositions,  which provide the peaks around which the other pieces coalesce. 

No comments: